Inside the Lines

Centerline rumble strip, as well as at edge of...

Centerline rumble strip, as well as at edge of roadway, located in Henniker, New Hampshire on Rt. 202. (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

I remember like it was yesterday, my first driving lesson from Coach Lloyd.  I spun out trying to turn left onto our gravel road from our concrete driveway, then proceeded to make my way the 1/4 mile to the paved road without incident.  Once I had successfully turned left onto Section House Rd., I had a strange problem…I couldn’t stay in the middle of my lane!  I would veer slowly right until the rumble strips informed me that I was about to take a nosedive into the drainage ditch, then the oncoming traffic would loom closer and closer as I veered towards the opposite lane.  this pattern was repeated over and over and over during a hair-raising 1 minute until coach would say one simple sentence that forever fixed my veering problem, “Focus on the center of your lane, stop looking at the lines on either side.”  I remember thinking that’s way too simple to work, and how can you not look at the massive vehicles rocketing by just a few feet away!

Then I tried it…and it worked!  It actually worked!  I was no longer veering back and forth and back and forth and…

The Apostle Paul tells us that we are to “fix our eyes upon” what is eternal.  I know, you’re thinking the same thought I was thinking, “that’s way too simple to work”…yet it does.

We men naturally follow after that which we focus on.  Start fantasizing about that woman at work, and you will eventually follow after that desire, wrong though you know it to be.  Start focusing on your career and you will soon be frustrated every time your wife complains that you aren’t spending enough time with the family.  On and on it goes.  Whatever we focus on in this life will become an idol to us.  We will find ourselves gradually drawn to it, only to jerk away and be drawn to something else.

Our activity in this life will only stay on course when we are focusing upon the goal of this life – the next one.

Want to stop veering all over your life?  Stop focusing on your life.

“So we fix our eyes not on what is seen, but on what is unseen, since what is seen is temporary, but what is unseen is eternal.” (2 Cor. 4:18 NIV)

Leave a Reply

