60/40 Principle

2006 Dodge Grand Caravan

2006 Dodge Grand Caravan

I drive a minivan.  I am a man.  This is difficult – not the being a man, but driving a minivan.  It does not have four-wheel drive, it does not have great ground clearance, I can’t hook a snow plow up to the front or a 2″ ball hitch to the back.  I can’t throw a full cord of wood in the back or a muddy dog after a romp in the woods and creek.  I am a father of four, and my wife is a stay-at-home mom – I drive a minivan.

This brings me to the 60/40 principle.  You have all heard of the 80/20 principle, where 80% of the work is done by 20% of the people, well the 60/40 principle is the reality of a good decision.  Note that I did not say a bad decision.  Driving a minivan is a good decision.  With a good decision, you gain 60%, but you also lose 40%.  These aren’t exact numbers, and they don’t always line up exactly 60/40, but it is a good rule of thumb.  A decision is just that, a decision.  You have to decide between the good of one vs. the good of the other.  Sometimes the decision is easy, sometimes it isn’t; but you are always choosing between the good in the two options.

To believe that in making a good decision everyone will agree with you is naive at best, and foolish at worst.  Some will value the good differently.  Some are so emotionally tied to a decision that they are unwilling to see any other option.  I really didn’t want to drive a minivan, but I did really want to have four kids, and I really did want my wife to be able to stay at home.  Familial and financial won out over the F250.

Don’t let the loss of the 40% hold you back from making the right decision, and certainly don’t let the loss of the 40% make you regret the right decision.  Own the loss, choose the better option, and move on.

It’s been 11 years without a pickup truck, and I have hauled dead animals (hunting and fishing), woodworking supplies and materials and a few face cords of firewood in the back of my minivans.  It has been more difficult, and less efficient than if I had had a truck – but I am ok with that; especially because this spring I finallly get my F250 v10!

P.S. The Dodge Grand Caravan can fit a 4’x8′ sheet of plywood in the back with its stow-n-go seating stowed!

One comment on “60/40 Principle

  1. […]  How much gas do I have left in the tank?  Important questions all.  The dashboard of my 2006 Dodge Grand Caravan has several gauges which keep me informed of significant things for a driver.  They are placed […]

Leave a Reply

